Skip to content

About EBA

The EUropean Blood Alliance (EBA) an association of not for profit Blood Establishments within the European Union or European Free Trade Association. Its mission is threefold:

  • To contribute to the availability, quality, safety and cost-effectiveness of the blood and tissue supply for the citizens of Europe by developing and maintaining an efficient and strong collaboration amongst European blood, cells and tissue services.
  • To increase public and professional awareness of voluntary and non-remunerated donation of blood and blood components as an indispensable therapeutic means to help patients.
  • To assist European blood establishments to continuously improve their performance, based on scientific and ethical principles for the benefit of patients
  • To facilitate networking among European blood, cells and tissue services.


It was created in 1998 with 9 members: Belgium, United Kingdom, Finland, France, Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Scotland.

Current membership

EBA now has 25 EU members, 2 EFTA members and two dormant members. On the membership page more information can be found on our members. EBA also has two observers: Serbia and America’s Blood Centers.

Executive Board

The EBA Executive Board consists of the following members:

Philippe Vandekerckhove – Red Cross Flanders – President
Erhard Seifried – German Red Cross Blood Transfusion Service – Vice-President
Rudolf Schwabe – Swiss Transfusion – Treasurer
Mary Morgan – Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service  – Secretary
rgen Georgsen – Organisation of Transfusion Centres in Denmark
Pierre Tiberghien – Établissement Français du Sang